Thoughtrek 💭🚶

Entering The Rabbit Hole of Fragrances

Fragrances and perfumes never interested me. I appreciate and like some smells, but certain strong smells hurt my brain and nose. I've been exploring and enjoying scented candles for a while now. I believe I'm confident enough in knowing what I like and what I don't like. Recently, I decided to try some perfumes, explore, and learn. What a rabbit hole. I've only explored two brands and I'm already overwhelmed.

I admit that what made me curious is quite immature. I wanted to know what perfumes some of my favorite K-pop artists use. Most of the picks were disappointingly basic. That was very funny to me.

Itzy's Yuna uses Diptyque Eau Capitale. To me, it's a cute and pretty rose. It feels like a young girl with old fashioned taste.

Yuna Twitter

Red Velvet's Wendy uses, among others, Diptyqye Tam Dao and Byredo Gypsy Water. I tried the Tam Dao EDT. It's pleasant but it feels like an old man with an oily face and this man likes young girls. It's interesting and strange, comforting and repulsive. I like it but can't get the image of an old pedo man out of my head. So my own thoughts ruin it for me. Byredo Gypsy Water does nothing for me. It's a room or hotel scent and it quickly dies to nothing. It's not a bad smell. It just does nothing for me. I can see how other people might like it though.

Wendy Twitter

Red Velvet's Seulgi uses, also among many picks, Byredo Blanche. Blanch to me is fresh clean laundry. It's a nice, pleasant, and comforting smell, but I don't want to look for perfume only to smell like laundry. I think it could work well as a room scent or maybe sprayed on the bed. Maybe if a person wears this, it signals wanting to be cuddled.

Seulgi Twitter

During this time, I've also sampled several others from these two brands. My nose is overwhelmed by now. For Diptyque, I've also tried Philosykos EDT, Philosykos EDP, L'Ombre Dans L'Eau EDP, Volutes EDP, Vetyverio EDP, Orpheon EDP, L'eau de Neroli EDT. For Byredo, I've also tried Bal D'Afrique, Mojave Ghost, Black Saffron, Open Sky, Slow Dance, Eyes Closed.

A quick list of impressions on everything that I've tried, starting with Diptyque: - Eau Capitale: starts as a woman then evolves to a cute girl with old fashioned taste. - Tam Dao EDT: old greasy-faced man, old, wood, masculine compensation, dries to old cabinets - Philosykos EDP: thick, yummy, juicy, slightly green, delicious, creamy - Philosykos EDT: greener and lighter than the EDP - L'Ombre Dans L'Eau EDP: green, floral, fresh, soft, calm - Veyverio: green, strong attack, pungent, pleasant but sharp, settles nicely, partially smells like typical man perfume - Volutes: old, aged, yummy, older than Tam Dao, too sweet, almost syrupy - Orpheon: barber shop, bathroom, Axe body spray

and Byredo: - Gypsy Water: weak, barber shop, hotel bathroom, familiar, boring, scented alcohol - Mojave Ghost: cute, pretty, smiling, comforting, cuddles, addictive, the feeling when your lover sends a selfie to you to make you smile or your day better - Bal D'Afrique: citrus without being too bright, happy, fun, good day, mood booster, hugs, nothing can ruin this day even if I cry - Blanche: fresh laundry, comfortable bed, better as spray on the bed or around the room - Black Saffron: warm, cozy, earthy, feet on ground, calming - Open Sky: pomelo, weed, pomelo, and more pomelo - Slow Dance: floral, powder, familiar, boring, sweet, weak - Eyes Closed: waxy, cinnamon, crayons, lipstick, repulsive start but settles to calm cinnamon

This has been an interesting, short, overwhelming journey. I want to settle with two Diptyque and two Byredo picks to start. After some elimination rounds, the current fight has Byredo Bal D'Afrique, Black Saffron, Mojave Ghost, Diptyque Philosykos EDP, and L'Ombre Dans L'Eau. Tam Dao has been in and out of this bracket several times. I like it but I just can't get over the old man thing I'm getting with it.

I'm excited, and slightly happy to have something to look forward to.

Thoughts? Leave a comment